DVD365.net
Lee Mack - Hit the Road Mack (2014) artwork

Lee Mack - Hit the Road Mack (2014)

10th December 2014

The multi-award winning star of Not Going Out and Would I Lie To You?, Lee Mack, is going back on the road with his first live tour in 4 years. Expect his trademark brand of high energy banter, well-crafted gags and sharp one-liners in one of the most hotly anticipated stand-up shows of the year.
Lee Mack, The Audience
Stand-up Comedy, Comedy
2
1 Hour 3 Minutes
24/11/2014

Lee Mack, one of the UK's most recognisable and celebrated comics, and the multi-award winning star of BBC One's Not Going Out and Would I Lie To You?, has released his first stand-up DVD in four years with Lee Mack - Hit the Road Mack.

Back on the road with his biggest show to date, and filmed across 7 nights at London's legendary Hammersmith Apollo, Hit The Road Mack showcases Lee Mack at the very top of his game, leaving the audience roaring with laughter with his trademark brand of high energy banter, well-crafted gags and sharp one-liners.

The Hit The Road Mack sell out tour started in September 2014 and has seen Lee play over 50 shows across 19 UK cities. In the DVD, we can expect to see plenty of Lee's trademark humour as he muses on the perils of everyday life while also sharing plenty of fun, quips and banter with the audience. But beware, this is no loony episode of Would I Lie To You? and the air soon turns rather blue with a full range of swear words...

Given that this is a stand up comedy gig recorded in a theatre you'd have to be a little bit on the weird side to expect some sort of Hollywood blockbuster with million pound CGI effects and swooshing surround effects. Nope, all we've got here is Lee Mack stood - well, I use that in the most loosely of phrases as he's constantly on the move - on a stage and telling jokes. There's a couple of different camera angles at the front of the stage, but the transfer is almost hardly worth talking about. Whilst it's never going to look like you're sat in audience with him, there's nothing wrong image quality and it's pretty much standard material for a comedy gig DVD.

The only let down is the soundtrack - especially where it becomes quite hard to hear some of the audience banter. Still, I guess you're watching the comedian and not the audience, but when a comedian interacts with the audience, it's always important that you can hear what is going on without having your ear drums thumped by the laugher and applause.

Fortunately, the 128Kbps 2.0 Dolby Digital soundtrack is more than up to the job and you can hear both Lee and the majority of the quips ("I wouldn't clean her carpet!") from the audience. It's never going to be like being there yourself, but it's as good as you're ever likely to get on this style of DVD release.

Whilst the menu is a static affair, with the tour artwork plastered across the screen, it is scored with some of the music from the show. The menu options are pretty simple too - with the option to watch the show with or without swearing or going on a behind-the-scenes tour with Lee.

The twenty-minute Behind the Scenes tour featurette takes a look at one of his gigs in Brighton. It's actually a great little featurette, even more so as Lee comes across in a very genuine and sincere manner. He talks about his television career and how quickly it could come to an end and how his "bread and butter" is his stand-up career and he likes to keep his "toe in" whilst an audience will come to see him perform. Along with getting a brief look at how the stage is set up and a run through the finale, we even get a quick look at the support act too.

The only other extra, if it can even be classed as one, is a "Non-swearing" version of the performance. You could argue that this is a very good move by Lee as he's probably more broadly known for his BBC shows Not Going Out and Would I Lie To You? - and the last thing you'll hear on those is any swearing so, when Granny decides she'd like to watch "that man off the television" do his stand-up you can be safe in the knowledge that no "naughty" words will pass his lips (well, they're actually bleeped out so you're a good lip reader it'll leave little to the imagination).

I do like Lee Mack. I'm a Northerner and so is Lee (he was born in Southport, Lancashire) so his rather mad-cap humour is very similar to mine. Just as with other Northern comedians such as Peter Kaye, Paddy McGuinness, Dave Spikey and Jason Manford, they all come across as very likeable and genuine people. It's probably one of the main reasons why they all have such a good following so, if you're a stand-up comedy fan, this disc is going to be a very enjoyable and entertaining giggle.

However, I do have an issue with this disc - and that's its running time. Whilst the actual show may be longer, at just over an hour it is far too short and more or less indicates that either Lee's show is too short, he has a lack of material (even more so when you discover that his tour includes a support act) or the filmed show wasn't really up to DVD standard. Having seen many stand-up shows from British comedy stars such as Jimmy Carr, Jack Dee and Dara Ó Briain, I'd be feeling rather short changed if I went to a show where the main act only lasted sixty minutes.

So, the comedy is great and, as his band of loyal fans well know, Lee can go off tangent with a right old ramble, please can we have much, much more of it. Sure, fans will still buy this disc without hesitation (and I just hope Lee isn't simply expecting this to be the case) but with Christmas bringing an ever more slue of releases from every stand-up comedian going, those short of content may find themselves being left on the shelf.

  • Backstage Tour with Lee
  • Non-swearing version
Goats artwork

Goats

DVD10/04/2014

As Ellis prepares to leave Tucson for his freshman year at an East Coast prep school, he also faces separating from his flaky, new age mother and the only real father he has ever known: Goat Man.
Penthouse North artwork

Penthouse North

BD04/02/2014

Thanks For Sharing artwork

Thanks For Sharing

DVD02/02/2014

Apple Tree Yard artwork

Apple Tree Yard

BD20/02/2017

Gomorrah artwork

Gomorrah

DVD19/07/2016

Lee Mack  artwork

Lee Mack

DVD10/12/2014

Living The Dream artwork

Living The Dream

DVD12/12/2017

Eternal optimist Mal Pemberton, his wife Jen and their teenage kids Tina and Freddie, uproot their lives in Yorkshire and move lock-stock and barrel to Florida to run an RV park in Living The Dream, released on DVD ...
Kenny artwork

Kenny

DVD12/12/2017

The Hero artwork

The Hero

DVD12/12/2017

Brawl In Cell Block 99 artwork

Brawl In Cell Block 99

DVDBD13/12/2017

The Case For Christ artwork

The Case For Christ

DVD13/12/2017

Interstellar artwork

Interstellar

4K-UHD11/12/2017

Kiss of the Dragon

Review08/04/2002

China's top secret agent is sent to Paris on a mission and ends up being framed for murder and top of the wanted list.

Detroit

News16/11/2017

From Academy Award winning director Kathryn Bigelow, Detroit, released on DVD and Blu-ray 8th January 2018 from Entertainment One, tells the gripping story of one of the darkest moments during the ...

Micky Flanagan

News05/10/2017

Recorded live at the O2, you will laugh until you cry when Micky Flanagan - An' Another Fing... Live is released on DVD and Blu-ray 20th November 2017 from Spirit Entertainment Limited.
"I have always depended on the kindness of strangers."
A Streetcar Named Desire (1951)

Rise Of The Footsoldier 3

DVDBD05/12/2017108

Nut Job 2

DVDBD3D-BD08/12/201787

Captain Underpants

DVDBD14/12/201787

Despicable Me 3

DVDBD3D-BD4K-UHD13/12/201784

Broken City

DVDBDNOTES12/12/20173434

Fast Girls

DVDBDNOTES11/12/20171554

The Ghost

DVDBDNOTES13/12/20171442

Escape Plan

DVDBDNOTES14/12/20171376

Racing Stripes

DVD14/12/20172242

Austin Powers

DVD08/12/20171297

The Simpsons

DVD08/12/2017782

#TheParty available #DVD #BluRay 19th February by Spirit Entertainment
DVD365.net

Game of Thrones

DVDBD25/09/2017

The Dark Tower

DVDBD4K-UHD17/11/2017

The White Princess

DVD08/12/2017

Living The Dream

DVD04/12/2017