DVD365.net

Lee Mack - Hit the Road Mack (2014)

10th December 2014

The multi-award winning star of Not Going Out and Would I Lie To You?, Lee Mack, is going back on the road with his first live tour in 4 years. Expect his trademark brand of high energy banter, well-crafted gags and sharp one-liners in one of the most hotly anticipated stand-up shows of the year.
Lee Mack, The Audience
Stand-up Comedy, Comedy
2
1 Hour 3 Minutes
24/11/2014

Lee Mack, one of the UK's most recognisable and celebrated comics, and the multi-award winning star of BBC One's Not Going Out and Would I Lie To You?, has released his first stand-up DVD in four years with Lee Mack - Hit the Road Mack.

Back on the road with his biggest show to date, and filmed across 7 nights at London's legendary Hammersmith Apollo, Hit The Road Mack showcases Lee Mack at the very top of his game, leaving the audience roaring with laughter with his trademark brand of high energy banter, well-crafted gags and sharp one-liners.

The Hit The Road Mack sell out tour started in September 2014 and has seen Lee play over 50 shows across 19 UK cities. In the DVD, we can expect to see plenty of Lee's trademark humour as he muses on the perils of everyday life while also sharing plenty of fun, quips and banter with the audience. But beware, this is no loony episode of Would I Lie To You? and the air soon turns rather blue with a full range of swear words...

Given that this is a stand up comedy gig recorded in a theatre you'd have to be a little bit on the weird side to expect some sort of Hollywood blockbuster with million pound CGI effects and swooshing surround effects. Nope, all we've got here is Lee Mack stood - well, I use that in the most loosely of phrases as he's constantly on the move - on a stage and telling jokes. There's a couple of different camera angles at the front of the stage, but the transfer is almost hardly worth talking about. Whilst it's never going to look like you're sat in audience with him, there's nothing wrong image quality and it's pretty much standard material for a comedy gig DVD.

The only let down is the soundtrack - especially where it becomes quite hard to hear some of the audience banter. Still, I guess you're watching the comedian and not the audience, but when a comedian interacts with the audience, it's always important that you can hear what is going on without having your ear drums thumped by the laugher and applause.

Fortunately, the 128Kbps 2.0 Dolby Digital soundtrack is more than up to the job and you can hear both Lee and the majority of the quips ("I wouldn't clean her carpet!") from the audience. It's never going to be like being there yourself, but it's as good as you're ever likely to get on this style of DVD release.

Whilst the menu is a static affair, with the tour artwork plastered across the screen, it is scored with some of the music from the show. The menu options are pretty simple too - with the option to watch the show with or without swearing or going on a behind-the-scenes tour with Lee.

The twenty-minute Behind the Scenes tour featurette takes a look at one of his gigs in Brighton. It's actually a great little featurette, even more so as Lee comes across in a very genuine and sincere manner. He talks about his television career and how quickly it could come to an end and how his "bread and butter" is his stand-up career and he likes to keep his "toe in" whilst an audience will come to see him perform. Along with getting a brief look at how the stage is set up and a run through the finale, we even get a quick look at the support act too.

The only other extra, if it can even be classed as one, is a "Non-swearing" version of the performance. You could argue that this is a very good move by Lee as he's probably more broadly known for his BBC shows Not Going Out and Would I Lie To You? - and the last thing you'll hear on those is any swearing so, when Granny decides she'd like to watch "that man off the television" do his stand-up you can be safe in the knowledge that no "naughty" words will pass his lips (well, they're actually bleeped out so you're a good lip reader it'll leave little to the imagination).

I do like Lee Mack. I'm a Northerner and so is Lee (he was born in Southport, Lancashire) so his rather mad-cap humour is very similar to mine. Just as with other Northern comedians such as Peter Kaye, Paddy McGuinness, Dave Spikey and Jason Manford, they all come across as very likeable and genuine people. It's probably one of the main reasons why they all have such a good following so, if you're a stand-up comedy fan, this disc is going to be a very enjoyable and entertaining giggle.

However, I do have an issue with this disc - and that's its running time. Whilst the actual show may be longer, at just over an hour it is far too short and more or less indicates that either Lee's show is too short, he has a lack of material (even more so when you discover that his tour includes a support act) or the filmed show wasn't really up to DVD standard. Having seen many stand-up shows from British comedy stars such as Jimmy Carr, Jack Dee and Dara Ó Briain, I'd be feeling rather short changed if I went to a show where the main act only lasted sixty minutes.

So, the comedy is great and, as his band of loyal fans well know, Lee can go off tangent with a right old ramble, please can we have much, much more of it. Sure, fans will still buy this disc without hesitation (and I just hope Lee isn't simply expecting this to be the case) but with Christmas bringing an ever more slue of releases from every stand-up comedian going, those short of content may find themselves being left on the shelf.

  • Backstage Tour with Lee
  • Non-swearing version
Goats artwork

Goats

DVD10/04/2014

As Ellis prepares to leave Tucson for his freshman year at an East Coast prep school, he also faces separating from his flaky, new age mother and the only real father he has ever known: Goat Man.      
Disappearance, The artwork

Disappearance, The

DVD06/07/2016

Gomorrah artwork

Gomorrah

DVD19/07/2016

Thanks For Sharing artwork

Thanks For Sharing

DVD02/02/2014

Braquo artwork

Braquo

Blu-Ray10/12/2016

Lee Mack  artwork

Lee Mack

DVD10/12/2014

Shut In artwork

Shut In

DVDBlu-Ray24/03/2017

Starring Naomi Watts, Shut In, the heart-pounding thriller about a widowed child psychologist who lives in an isolated existence in rural New England is released on DVD and Blu-ray by Arrow Films on 10th April 2017.
Rivers and Tides artwork

Rivers and Tides

Blu-Ray23/03/2017

Man Down artwork

Man Down

DVDBlu-Ray22/03/2017

American Pastoral artwork

American Pastoral

DVD20/03/2017

Nicolas on Holiday artwork

Nicolas on Holiday

DVD20/03/2017

Follow The Money artwork

Follow The Money

DVD20/03/2017

Inferno

Features23/01/2017

Academy Award® winner Ron Howard returns to direct the latest bestseller in Dan Brown's billion-dollar Robert Langdon series, Inferno, which finds the famous symbologist on a trail of clues ...

Doctor Strange

News03/02/2017

Scott Derrickson co-writes and directs the the critically acclaimed blockbuster mystical adventure Doctor Strange, released on Blu-ray 3D, Blu-ray and DVD on 6th March 2017 from Walt Disney Studios ...

Drive

Review14/01/2001

A prototype bio-enhanced human is on the run from Chinese-hired hit men who need to capture him alive in order to recover the technology.
"The hardest thing to govern is the heart."
Elizabeth I (2005)

Snowden

DVD22/03/2017276

Modus

DVD23/03/2017248

Mo Farah

DVDBlu-Ray22/03/2017247

Free State of Jones

DVDBlu-Ray22/03/2017246

Broken City

DVDBlu-Ray21/03/20173373

The Ghost

DVDBlu-Ray22/03/20171357

Fast Girls

DVDBlu-Ray23/03/20171334

Escape Plan

DVDBlu-Ray22/03/20171281

Racing Stripes

DVD22/03/20172118

Austin Powers

DVD21/03/20171259

The Simpsons

DVD23/03/2017745

The Big Heat

DVDBlu-Ray13/03/2017

Death Race 2050

DVDBlu-Ray09/01/2017

The Chamber

DVDBlu-Ray03/02/2017